Mike Mills Makes Movies I Like

I saw BEGINNERS last night. It was subtle and emotional and funny. As hoped for, Mike Mills made some really interesting choices that beautifully tapped into right brain logic (i.e. “the coin sequence” launched by the line of dialogue about a quarter.) Everything was filtered through our unique, charming, lost protagonist’s POV. The character of Anna (Melanie Laurent is magnetic) almost was the ultimate manic pixie dream girl, which would not be a compliment, but the film caught itself just short of crossing the line by giving her three dimensions and letting her be a grown-up in her own way. I have to admit – the roller skating through the hotel scene did make me laugh and remember how great falling in love is. If MPDG had been allowed to her full potential, I would have thrown up instead.

I might like THUMBSUCKER more based on a super strong emotional memory I have of the film that I only saw once. I need to watch it again.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Mike Mills Makes Movies I Like”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I have never seen Thumbsucker.. I will watch it with you.

  2. Anna Says:

    Let’s watch it together when you come back to towwwwwn!

Leave a Reply

