Formerly Known as Arian Moayed

Now, I’ll insist on calling him “Tony-Nominated” Arian Moayed!

I’ve known Arian for about ten years through a wonderful mutual friend. He and I were both smart enough to claim her as a super pal early on!

Professionally, I’ve been a fan of his since the first time I saw him on itsy-bitsy college stage during a spring break jaunt to Indiana. I think there were 16 people in the audience.

In the last years, our mutual friend, who is not in the entertainment industry, has been an invaluable supporter of mine and Arian’s. I remember low days of wondering if I was a delusional lunatic for thinking I could make it in movie world, and she would be there with a heartfelt pep talk, never wavering in her belief that “It will happen.” She would say she felt the same way about Arian. So, though he and I aren’t close, I felt a kinship with him as he climbed the ladder, refused to get knocked down, and continued to dedicate himself to his craft and creativity  no matter what. Never letting that talent go to waste.

A few months ago, I had the joy of seeing him give an incredible performance – powerful, funny, nuanced, heartbreaking – in the equally profound Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo. This was before Robin Williams took on the Tiger role.

Today, Arian was nominated for a Tony Award for Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a play! YES!!!!!!!!

I have complete faith that Arian is going to continue to wow us in countless amazing performances in the future productions of unforgettable projects both on stage and on film. Quite frankly, I’m so excited to see what he does next. I also can’t wait to look back on today and remember the sweetness of the first time he was recognized at such a grand level… and how it triggered so much more inspiring work and art from him.

Besides rooting for Arian to win at the Tony’s, check out and support Waterwell, the NYC-based theater company he co-founded in 2002.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

