The Hunger Games

I read it in two days. I understand all the adoration and obsession for this young adult sci-fi book. I devoured it and am now hankering for the  next installment. This time I don’t think I can sit tight for the library’s copy… I need to borrow a friend’s so I am not waiting. Generally, I find the premise and world fascinating and am 100% rooting for our heroine Katniss.

That said, Stephen King said “shoot-it-if-it-moves videogames in the lobby of the local eightplex; you know it’s not real, but you keep plugging in quarters anyway.” I felt his critique, which meant I was utterly entertained and happy to feel the formulated “big moments,” but I never got emotionally rocked by the story or as deeply attached to Katniss like I did with Sloppy First‘s Jessica Darling.

We’ll see what happens when I read the next novel in the series, Catching Fire.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “The Hunger Games”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Anna! I was totally into this book, too!! I won’t say anything about the second and third books because I don’t want to bias you. : )

Leave a Reply

