How to Lose Dirty Rotten Dave

In developing a pitch for a remake of an old film, I’ve put my nose to the grindstone and dug into the back-breaking work of watching HOW TO LOSE A GUY IN 10 DAYS, DIRTY ROTTEN SCOUNDRELS and DAVE. It’s an grueling job but someone’s gotta do it.

The pitch is in a little more than a week, and I’m having a ball breaking the story, defining the characters, sussing out plot. The source material is squarely (and wonderfully) in my wheelhouse and totally fertile grounds for a more modern and stronger story.  Yes!

I mapped the plots of all three of the films, meaning I recorded the minute at which milestones occurred, specifically noting the tent-pole moments likethe  Inciting Incident, Plot Point 1, Midpoint, etc. The exercised amused me most on the plane to NY when I was watching HOW TO LOSE A GUY IN 10 DAYS on my laptop while scribbling notes. I appeared to be a super fan of this seven-year-old rom-com.

I wonder if you can guess some story points or themes of the remake idea based on these reference films?

 

Leave a Reply

