My One Hundred and Forty Seconds in 2009

Last summer, I was asked to be one of the directors to contribute to Frank Kelly’s groundbreaking project “140.”  Inspired by mass communication’s newest crush Twitter, “140” was made when 140 people in 140 locations around the world shoot 140 seconds of what connects them to their home. The result – a feature length documentary of poignant moments captured around the world at the same time.

On the date we all simultaneously filmed, I was inspired by my horoscope(s) for the day.  My 140 seconds is now available for viewing here!

As you’d suspect (and as the conceit behind “140” suggests), this all seems so connected… I’m in the midst of directing three awesome branded webseries and just yesterday Twittered about Kickstarter’s film fest of web-financed films it has subsided.  The creator/curator of “140”, Frank Kelly, whom I met and befriended at a film festival three years ago, wrote a piece for Moving Picture magazine in May. An excerpt from that article sums up what I’m getting at: “This kind of Web 2.0 community filmmaking is a new way to make films, and perhaps we will see a different kind of film emerge. I think this is what lies at the heart of Web 2.0. We can find collaborators. We can develop ideas 1,000 miles apart.”

It is a difficult time to be a filmmaker for a the gobs of reasons my colleagues love to remind each other of, but let’s admit it, it’s an exciting time too.  Considering how many and how much I love the films created in the U.S. in the 1970’s as well as the plethora of renowned directors who emerged during (and possibly because of) that revolutionary time (in cinema history),  I have often wondered with awe what it must have been like to be a filmmaker then.  Perhaps one day, filmmakers will look back on these days and wonder the same thing.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “My One Hundred and Forty Seconds in 2009”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Cool. I like that yours has a story. I also really like watching the lady peel the apple. I could watch that all day long.

  2. Taco Cinema « Anna Christopher | News Says:

    […] garden, a live DJ and an outdoor screening of “140,” a feature length film that includes a segment I directed! The fun rocks and rolls from 1 – 9pm at the Medallion loft complex (4th & Main), and […]

  3. “140″ Project is now on Vimeo « Anna Christopher | News Says:

    […] “140″ is now free to view and download on Vimeo. Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

