Appointment with Done(ish)

So much to update you on! It’s almost daunting.  Especially since I’m squeezing this post in while LAB and I stop in at Starbucks for email-checking.  You can assume that the longer my blog is dormant the busier I am.  This is not a woo-is-me statement. Busy is good.  In August when we went to see sweet Ellen, the powdery soft skin sunshiny tarot reader-clairvoyant, she told me the next three months would set the tone of my career for the next fifteen years.

The next FIFTEEN YEARS.  My response: !!!  Ellen’s response, “Oh, that just freaked you out, huh?”

If the next fifteen years are as busy as these autumn days, I’m a lucky filmmaker.  If they are as profit indeterminate, I’m an uneasy filmmaker.

The big news has been eked out step-by-step via my tweets and Facebook statuses:

The editing, sound mixing, color correcting, and mastering to DVD of APPOINTMENT IN VANCOUVER is done!

In about a week, the DVD will be available for purchase on our newly revised website, IndieFlix and Amazon.

I’m proud of us. We met our deadline of making AIV obtainable to holiday shoppers. To achieve this goal, there has been some major hustling like….

  • Bringing on one of my favorite composers, Chris Westlake, to compose music when our original composer’s system crashed two days before our sound mix.
  • Working with the incredible Andy Hay (and his six-fingered cat, Cody) and having to ask him to extend our time as Mo, our indomitable music supervisor who secured 12 tracks with a $0 budget, scrambled to license our credits music and Chris delivered the final, emergency-ordered, PERFECT tracks.
  • Combing through our raw footage with Andy guiding me via AIM to find background sound bytes to fill newly found sound ‘black holes.’ I’m so grateful for Andy’s sense of humor – as wacky as mine and as delightfully fitting for AIM giggles.
  • On Halloween, calling up our grad school colleague and the production designer of my first project at AFI talented Megan Hutchison in Portland to ask yet another favor of a friend: can you design our DVD jacket, disc and menu art?  She said yes.  I LOVE the art. It’s edgy, brave, masculine, epic, arresting, memorable and included in this entry.
  • Calling in Stephanie Hernstadt to do our credit roll on AfterEffects because in FCP they look jittery.  BTW I love our main credits — I did them late one Thursday night; beautiful landscape shots of mountains and ski resort visuals with our names cleverly inserted into the the images.
  • Working out one frame color-correction render glitches with Dominique. This was one of my favorite issues to remedy because it meant I got to hang with Dom at In A Place Productions a lot… which is the second most Zen place in LA (first is my house).
  • Spending a solid week fighting DVD Studio Pro and iDVD creating a master DVD of the film. To save a few hundred dollars, I dedicated hours and hours, dozens of test DVDs, and a new level of patience figuring out how to create an SD disc from HD mixed footage.

Now the PR and marketing hustle begins.  As Seth, the film’s producer loves to tell me, we aren’t done. We’re just beginning.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

