LOSERS: Draft 1 Delivered

The first draft of LOSERS was delivered to me a week ago!  This script is our response to all the big, boy, (Judd Apatowed) comedies that we (and audiences) love like I LOVE YOU, MAN and THE HANGOVER.  We adore love these flicks. We just think stories about chicks can be hilarious too… and not because the girls fall down or say dumb things.

LOSERS is about two girls who’ve been best friends for as long as they’ve been stoner “losers.”  The two just-turned-30 girls, excuse me, women take to the road (with a hot intern) to make a doc about how to become successful.  Along the way, these directionless, unemployed potheads find their way and their own version of success. It’s THELMA AND LOUISE but funny.  ROMY AND MICHELLE but more timely. It’s PINEAPPLE EXPRESS but with chicks (and with a point).

We. I said ‘we’ a lot didn’t I?  You noticed!  Yes. I am not writing this project. I’m a co-story creator with Leigh Anne.  Leigh Anne is spearheading that pesky ‘writing’ bit of this enterprise.  This is perfect because

  1. She’s big time talented.
  2. She initially conceived of LOSERS.
  3. I’m so close to closing the deal on a project that would fling me immediately into the writing room full time. I want this to happen! I’ve been working towards this deal for ONE YEAR, so when it happens, I’m onboard 100%, which wouldn’t be fair to LOSERS if I was sharing the writing duties.

Leigh Anne and I are old Northwestern friends.  Old as in we’ve know each other for many years NOT ‘old’ as in washed-up and wrinkly.  We have been roommates (briefly), writing partners (a teen hour-long dramedy pilot), p90X survivors (got in the best shape of our lives), happy hour fiends together (Malo on Mondays is the only way to celebrate the vanguishing of Monday blues), and now are the geniuses behind LOSERS.  Yes. I called us geniuses. What?  That’s how good this script is going to be.

But first things first, we are revising.  Writing is rewriting. The first draft (9/12) was good.  Draft 2 will be even better.  It’s dropping on Saturday the 26th, which means I’ll be reading it, devising my notes, and conferencing with Leigh Anne while I’m on a respite in Seattle.  She’ll jump into Draft 3 two days later.  I’ll keep you updated on our progress.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

