The Wedding Videographer!

I’m headed to Menlo Park, CA for the weekend to attend my friend Kara Demsey’swedding. Kara and I were roommates during our freshman year at Northwestern and then suitematesKara and I at March's NU Roommate Reunion in NYC. the next year.  We lived with two other girls – Sheila and Marci.

The four of us were assigned to a Foster-Walker Quad, which meant TIGHT quarters (a room with two bunk beds, a small common room, and a tiny bathroom). Plus, none of us knew each other before walking through our room’s door.  With those two facts in mind, most people bet against us creating a happy, peaceful home together. Traditionally the Quads in our dorm warred and split up by the second trimester.

2002 Road Trip with Kara. Cleveland to LA to Vancouver to Chicago.The four of us, however, were miraculously meant for each other.  We have yearly reunions to this day.  I took a road trip across the U.S. with Kara after graduation — four years after first meeting each other.  Marci evenMarci joined us to Vegas. Then she had to leave for law school. joined us for a portion of the trip!  We had just as much fun on that trip across America as we did in our beloved Quad.

On our last roommate reunion, I asked Kara if she was going to have a videographer at her wedding.  She hadn’t planned on it. I offered my services. Hey – I own a camera, I have two film degrees, I’m already going to the wedding.  Why not?  Four weeks later she called and took me up on the offer. I’m honored to document the special day for her.Roomies at the Reunion (minus Sheila) doing our NU Wildcat claw.

And as if destiny planned the whole thing, my date is a NU film grad who joined us on our road trip for three days back in 2002! I’ve got my crew, packed my two HDV cameras (might as well get coverage, right?) and tripod (who wants a shaky frame when the Bride’s walking the aisle!), and am leaving for Burbank airport. Then it’s on to dancing, eating, drinking, living it up with old friends, and filming a few classic ‘wedding’ moments that Kara can show her grandparents and kids what the day was like… and so she and Jack will never forget.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “The Wedding Videographer!”

  1. Queeney Weekend « Anna Christopher | News Says:

    […] my college roommate Kara (did her wedding video) lives nearby, so we’ll get to […]

Leave a Reply

