My First Over-the-Shoulder Pose

Our annual Girls’ Night went down Saturday May 2 and due to the incredibleness that only blue sequined mini dresses can render – we got some fashion press.  

Can you find the blue sequined dress?

Can you find the blue sequined dress?

This dress is super fun to wear because male and female strangers alike react to its blinding sparkle with equal parts childlike excitement and instant friendship.  Sequins have the power of a pregnant belly at the grocery store but (hopefully) without that nagging “baby” aftermath.  

In any case, the dress worked its magic even in the dingiest of hipster diver bars: Little Joy.  Some how my bargain bin, blue bundle of sparkles ($30; original price tag was $400, Camarillo Preminum Outlets) caught the eye of a Fashion Blogger (Beth) working the scene.  

Fashion Blogger Beth approaches and I can't hear her.

Fashion Blogger Beth approaches and I can't hear her.

 

Beth approached me with more seriousness than the average fan of blue sequined dresses – it wasn’t about gushing.  She was hawk-eyed and focused.  She was on assignment and needed to bag the story.  She asked for a photo.  No prob!  After a few shots, she requested a starlet favorite, the over-the-shoulder pose.  

Really?  Here?  With the walls of graffiti and the flourescent-lite pool table?  Whatever. What do I have to lose.  I posed.  She snapped.  My first time was done and over with in a blink and it didn’t even hurt that much.

A notso classic fashionista pose.

A notso classic fashionista pose.

Over the music, I thought she said she wrote for Who What Wear Daily (a site I actually read).  I was gleeful to say the least.  She said she’d email me the link.  For the first time ever, I didn’t have a card on me.  Ugh.  But she and I agreed I’d be able to find the post on my own.

Wrong.  

Since then I haven’t been able to find her write-up, my pic, or blue sequined glory in ‘print.’  Maybe I miss heard Beth?  Maybe she was lying — for what purpose I don’t know.  Maybe she just thought it was time I over-the-shouldered.  I don’t know but if you find her blog with my pic, please tell me.  I want my 15 minutes in fashion.

These are Grade A sequins. They can be dangerously sparkly.  Note Leigh Anne's momentary blindness.

These are Grade A sequins. They can be dangerously sparkly. Note Leigh Anne's momentary blindness.

 

For expanded deets on Girls’ Night…

  • The turf:  Silverlake
  • The route:  staging at my place then Tiki Bar, El Chavo, Malo, El Cid, a lap at 4100 (it was a butcher’s shop of dudes deep in hipster denial), Short Stop’s Line (even sequins couldn’t get us in the front door), Little Joy ’til closing, afterhours an unspecified house party thrown by Danes (departure 4AM)
  • The review: best Girls’ Night to date, noting the success of a Saturday instead of Friday start time and commencing at a funny place like Tiki.
Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

